Your Android device may have an activation or reactivation lock which prevents someone else from activating your device should it be lost or stolen. Google introduced this feature on all devices running Android 5.1 or higher.
If you're planning to sell your Android device to BuyBackworld, the lock should be disabled beforehand or we will be unable to inspect and pay you for your item.
In the event your device has left your possession but still has your Google account information on it, the information can be removed remotely.
If the device was factory reset with the Google account still on the phone and the Factory Reset Protection/Device Protection is enabled, the device will ask for the Google information on start up and remote removal will not work so we will be unable to remove it.
REMOVAL IF YOU STILL HAVE YOUR DEVICE:
To remove this feature all you have to do is remove your Google Accounts from your phone.
1. Open the Settings menu on your phone
2. Find the Accounts option
3. Under Accounts, select Google
4. You will now see a list of Google emails that are linked to your device. Select the first account
5. You will now see Sync Settings for the selected account. Select the Menu
6. Now select Remove Account
7. Repeat steps 4 to 6 till all Google Accounts have been removed from your device. Remember, removing an account does not delete any data from your Google Account, your device will simply stop syncing data
REMOTE REMOVAL OF GOOGLE ACCOUNT:
1) Log into your Google account [ https://myaccount.google.com/ ]
2) Once logged in go to Device Activity & Notifications ( Under the Sign-in & Security tab)
3) Next click on Review Devices (Under Recently Used Devices)
4) Select the device you wish to remove your Google account from
5) Click the red “REMOVE” button BESIDE Account access
6) There will a confirmation window, select REMOVE
7) A second window will show access has been removed
8) Now in the list of recent devices, the selected device will show Access removed
**NOTE: after removing the Google account access perform the reset from the settings of the phone. On some model phones a Hardware reset will request the Google account information during setup.**
72 HOUR GOOGLE LOCK
If a Google password is changed and the device is immediately factory reset, a message will appear after a restart which says:
“please sign in using one of the owners accounts for this device”
This indicates the google account on the phone is now locked for 72 hours and you must wait for it to reset. This is mostly common with Samsung devices.
You can also check out Google's FAQs here